Whatever You Do, Don’t Fall Asleep

I love movies.  Ever since I was a kid, I’ve had quite an extensive collection of them.  I love all kinds of movies – foreign films, indie, Disney, thriller, and especially horror – there’s not much I won’t watch.  I think I subscribe to just about every streaming service offered too.  (This probably explains why I’m fat).  I love unwinding with a movie after a stressful day, I love watching movies while I’m crafting, I could watch a movie anytime and anywhere.

I also love lists.  So in all my movie watching, I decided to keep track of what I watched this year.  I’ve added a count to my blog (as if people care to follow along).  My goal is to watch 250 films this year.  I think I’m well on my way.

Just to give you an idea of my horror movie obsession: I was so fascinated with Freddy Krueger when I was 5 that I begged my mom to buy me a Freddy costume for Halloween.  She should have never let me watch those movies at that age.  I would get so scared that I would sleep with my bedroom light on, but at the same time I loved it.  The costume was just like this one:

FKcostume

I think being exposed at such a young age really desensitized me to horror.  With the exception of Insidious, not much scares me anymore.  I actually watched the original A Nightmare on Elm Street over the weekend and found it funny more than anything.  It is such a classic though and is a great slasher film.  And the effects were pretty good for being made in the early 80’s.  I’m probably a weirdo for liking all the gore.  I had high hopes for the remake of A Nightmare on Elm Street when it came out in 2010, but it was pretty terrible.  Jackie Earle Haley played a good Freddy, but Robert Englund is just way better.  Kellan Lutz was the best part of the remake.  Hello there. 🙂

VI7wIca9ltAda8_1_hd

138 movies to go.  Good thing I don’t have a life.

Leave a comment